top of page
Sri Guru Granth Sahib.jpg

ABOUT: The **Sri Guru Granth Sahib**, also known as the Adi Granth, is the central religious scripture of Sikhism, regarded by Sikhs as the final, sovereign, and eternal living Guru. It is a voluminous text of 1,430 pages, compiled and composed during the period of Sikh Gurus from 1469 to 1708. Here’s a concise synopsis: ### Structure and Content 1. **Composition**: The Granth comprises 5,894 hymns (Shabads) by Sikh Gurus and various saints (Bhagats) from diverse religious and social backgrounds. These hymns are written in poetic form and set to music (Ragas). 2. **Language**: It is primarily written in Gurmukhi script, incorporating various languages like Punjabi, Sanskrit, Persian, and regional dialects. ### Key Themes 1. **Oneness of God**: The Granth emphasizes the concept of one universal God (Ik Onkar), who is the creator, sustainer, and destroyer of the universe. 2. **Equality**: It advocates for the equality of all humans, regardless of caste, creed, gender, or social status. 3. **Selfless Service**: It promotes the idea of serving humanity without any desire for reward. 4. **Living a Truthful Life**: The teachings stress living a life of honesty, integrity, and righteousness (Dharma). 5. **Meditation and Remembrance**: It underscores the importance of meditating on God’s name (Naam Simran) and keeping God in one's thoughts. ### Major Sections 1. **Japji Sahib**: Composed by Guru Nanak, it opens the Granth and lays the foundation for Sikh philosophy. 2. **Ragas**: The majority of the Granth is arranged into 31 Ragas, traditional musical frameworks in which hymns are set. 3. **Swayyas and Sloks**: These are poetic compositions and couplets that convey moral teachings and wisdom. ### Prominent Gurus and Contributors 1. **Guru Nanak (1469-1539)**: The founder of Sikhism, contributed a significant portion of the hymns. 2. **Guru Angad, Guru Amar Das, Guru Ram Das**: Successive Gurus who further added to the Granth. 3. **Guru Arjan (1563-1606)**: The fifth Guru who compiled the Adi Granth in 1604. 4. **Guru Tegh Bahadur**: His hymns were added by the tenth Guru, Gobind Singh, who finalized the text in 1708 and declared it the eternal Guru. ### Conclusion The Sri Guru Granth Sahib serves not only as a religious scripture but also as a guide for moral and ethical living. It is revered for its spiritual teachings and its universal message of love, peace, and harmony. STRUCTURE: The **Sri Guru Granth Sahib** is meticulously organized to reflect both the musical and thematic essence of its contents. Here is a detailed look at its structure: ### Opening Section 1. **Mool Mantar (Mul Mantra)**: The fundamental prayer and declaration of the nature of God, composed by Guru Nanak. 2. **Japji Sahib**: A foundational composition by Guru Nanak, consisting of an introduction followed by 38 pauris (stanzas) and a concluding Salok. It outlines the core principles of Sikhism. ### Raga Section The bulk of the Guru Granth Sahib is organized according to musical modes (ragas). Each raga provides a distinct emotional and thematic setting for the hymns. There are 31 main ragas, each subdivided into the following components: 1. **Chapters under Each Raga**: - **Shabads (Hymns)**: The main hymns, often composed by multiple Gurus. - **Ashtapadis**: Compositions with eight parts. - **Chhants**: Hymns with four parts, often lyrical and celebratory. - **Vars**: Ballads with a narrative or moral focus, often in praise of the Divine or recounting historical events. - **Sloaks and Pauris**: Short verses and longer stanzas, respectively, adding further depth to the hymns. ### Key Sections and Their Components 1. **Siri Raga**: This is the first raga section and sets the tone for the devotional content that follows. 2. **Majh, Gauri, Asa, Gujari, Devgandhari, Bihagara, Vadhans, Sorath, Dhanasari, Jaitsari, Todi, Bairari, Tilang, Suhi, Bilaval, Gaund, Ramkali, Nat Narayan, Mali Gaura, Maru, Tukhari, Kedara, Bhairo, Basant, Sarang, Malar, Kanara, Kalyan, Parbhati, Jaijavanti**: Each raga introduces its unique set of compositions, maintaining the thematic and musical diversity of the Granth. ### Bhagat Bani Included within the raga sections are the hymns of various Bhagats (saints) such as Kabir, Ravidas, Namdev, and others. These hymns align with Sikh teachings and are integrated into the structure of the raga in which they appear. ### Concluding Sections 1. **Salok Sahaskriti**: Hymns in classical Sanskrit, highlighting the universality and scholarly aspect of the scripture. 2. **Gatha**: Verses in a form of ancient Sanskrit or Pali. 3. **Phunhe**: Compositions often written in a mix of languages, with a devotional focus. 4. **Chaubole**: Four-part hymns, adding variety to the literary forms within the Granth. 5. **Swayyas**: Verses that often praise God or the Gurus. 6. **Sloks of Guru Tegh Bahadur**: Short, contemplative verses by the ninth Guru. 7. **Mundavani**: The seal, composed by Guru Arjan, symbolizing the completion of the Granth. 8. **Rag Mala**: The final section listing various ragas, summarizing the musical framework of the Granth. This structured approach not only preserves the poetic and musical integrity of the compositions but also facilitates the devotional practice and study for Sikhs. The Sri Guru Granth Sahib is not just a text but a living guide for spiritual and moral conduct.

SGGS Katha - More Coming Soon

Ang 001 - Ang 196
bottom of page